Frank Sinatra Jr. Eyes The Big 5-0

 

 

Frank Sinatra Jr. has been singing and leading Big Bands for almost as long as his incomparable father, Frank Sinatra. The son of the icon of icons has been at it for 49 years. “That’s a long time to be doing anything,” Sinatra said while calling from his Los Angeles home. ”But I love it. It’ll be 50 years in August of 2012.“

Sinatra, who will perform Friday and Saturday at the Borgata, doesn’t plan on a big celebration. “I think I’ll avoid that,” Sinatra said “I’ll be fine as long as I’m performing somewhere.”

Bet on Sinatra performing somewhere as his career hits the big 5-0. He’ll be Sinatra playing Sinatra. “It’s a privilege to play these songs,” Sinatra said. “They mean a lot to many people. They stand the test of time. They never go out of style.”

The same could be said of his legendary father, who never faded away. Fans packed venues to catch Sinatra, even when ‘ol blue eyes was well into his twilight years.

“He was something else,” Sinatra said. “The man he admired so much, Bing Crosby nailed it when he was being interviewed during the ‘70s. He said, ‘Sinatra is the only one of us who gets through to those of all ages.’ That was put so well because that was exactly right. I was his bandleader the last seven years of his career and I could see teenagers and those in the ‘20s in the audience. It was a wonderful thing.  He was one of a kind and so were the songs like ‘Fly Me to The Moon,’ ‘Summerwind’ and so many others.”

Sinatra knows his father’s music will live on without him but he just loves playing his dad’s material. “These songs will go on forever,” Sinatra said. “Frank Sinatra will go on forever. There’s just no doubt about that.”

And how long will his son perform? “As long as I can,” Sinatra said. ”I’ve been doing this since I was a teenager. This is what I know. This is what I love. This is in my blood. That’s the way it’ll always be.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

